Home
OS Scores Explained WWE 13 Overview (Xbox 360)
Pros
Attitude Era Mode; Roster; Presentation
Cons
AI problems; Some glitchy animations; Announcing
Bottom Line
Additions to an already good game, create for a fun experience.
8
out of 10
WWE 13 REVIEW

WWE 13 Review (Xbox 360)

WWE '13 adds onto an already solid foundation, and puts the attitude back in wrestling games, both literally and figureatively. While the game still has some flaws which will remind you it's still got a bit to go before it's an all-timer.
 
 
Gameplay

WWE '12 added some great things to the virtual-squared circle. The wake-up taunts, the limb targeting system and the comeback moments. The biggest addition to WWE '12 was probably the control scheme changes for the grappling system. In WWE '13, things haven't changed.

When game developers have a vision of what direction they are trying to go, it can either crash and burn, or take off running. With WWE '13, I believe we're set for take off. The controls were simplified last year, and haven't changed in WWE '13. This is a good thing. The control scheme is responsive, and is easy to pick up and play.

One of the cooler things added into WWE '13 is the option for match types. Quick matches result in very damaging moves, which lead to a quicker finish. Normal match types are your typical length, with a normal amount of damage applied to each move. Epic matches are exciting. They can last a long time provide for some seriously memorable matches.

Weight detection still needs some work in WWE '13. On one hand, Shawn Michaels easily picked up The Undertaker for a scoop slam, which should have been more of a struggle. On the other hand, the actual weight of the wrestlers while moving around is very palpable. I played a tag-team match controlling Daniel Bryan and Kane against Epico and Primo. Bryan was quick and methodical, whereas Kane was slower, but more powerful, just like their real-life counterparts.

While the controls not changing are a good thing, the AI needs a makeover.

The AI can be just plain dumb, sometimes. For instance, in a tag-team match, my opponent was beaten down pretty badly. The opponent needs to make a tag, and drops everything he's doing to make the tag. He reversed a move of mine, and didn't even take advantage. He just limped to his corner. Other instances include the AI leaving the ring just to stand on the apron for a second, and random pausing to just stare during the match.

Other nagging problems that have been around for a while are still in WWE '13. Glitchy animations and movements seem to pop up more than they should. One-on-one matches seem to limit the glitches and strange movements. But specialty matches seem to suffer the most from these glitches. Matches with ladders, tables, and/or multiple opponents, all seem to spike the odds of seeing a glitchy moment. This doesn't happen often enough to be a game-changer, but it needs work.

While the gameplay seems to have gone in an "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" direction, I still think it's good enough -- in addition to other things in the game -- to pick up WWE '13.
 
 
Presentation Elements

This is where WWE '13 beats it’s predecessor over the head with a steel chair over and over again. While the announcing can be a little hit-or-miss, and seems like an area that was ignored, the rest of the presentation package is definitely much improved.
 
The crowd in WWE '13 really made strides. Hit a finisher, and you'll hear a loud reaction. If you have a wrestler with the comeback moment, the crowd erupts as you’re hitting each move to make the comeback. The crowd is the first thing that I noticed in my first match, a real improvement.

During matches, they've updated the graphics that you see when playing. If you reverse a move, it pops up like a cartoon. It's not out of place either, it looks good. You also receive feedback if you miss a reversal opportunity. “Too early,” or “too late” messages will pop-up above your wrestler’s head, based on your timing.
 
 
Simulation Realism

In Universe Mode, I simulated an entire calendar year. The computer does a great job of creating story lines and feuds that make sense. Universe Mode has improved since WWE '12, and includes an option to allow users to control story-lines while simulating. Also, the outcomes of matches are realistic. CM Punk held the title for about four months, and had a continual rivalry with The Rock and John Cena. My only negative within the simulation, was that feuds sometimes seemed to last an extreme amount of time. For three months straight, John Cena fought singles matches against Brock Lesnar, but would magically show up in a title match against someone else for a pay-per-view. Aside from that, Universe Mode has improved.

Attitude Era Mode

This is the mode that makes WWE '13 shine. For someone like me, who grew up watching wrestling during the Attitude Era, this mode is something of a dream-come-true. While I've only gotten through a portion of the story mode, I can see from the setup, that it's a must-play mode. There's also an informational angle to this mode that includes videos, statistics, and graphics. This is a nice addition that shows the younger generation, who grew up after the Attitude Era, how important and significant of an era it was for the WWE.
 
 
Online

Online seems a lot better than in WWE '12. Lag was virtually non-existent for me, and the controls were close to being as responsive as they are offline. Players can also play online with their own creations without uploading every time, which is nice. The biggest improvement with online has to be the stability when downloading. In WWE '12, there were times when the game would freeze, or send you back to the main menu without even downloading, or some other glitchy mishap. In WWE '13, I was able to seamlessly download multiple community creations, and didn't even have to leave the screen I was on.
 
 
Final Thoughts

Whether you grew up before, during, or after the Attitude Era, WWE '13 is a game that is worth buying. The gameplay gets the job done, the presentation is almost there, and the Attitude Era mode is a fantastic addition to the game.

Roster: After unlocking all of the roster, it totals over 100 characters. DLC and community creations also add to an already huge roster.

Match Types: New match types to WWE '13 include: I Quit, King of the Ring, and Special Referee. These match types have made a much-awaited return to the wrestling game world.

Audio: Touched on this in Presentation, but the crowd is amazing. The overall sound creates as lifelike an in-ring experience as I've ever seen on a video game.

Visuals: Player models are better. Some are still the same, but many have been changed to look better.

Score: 8 (Great)

WWE 13 Videos
Member Comments
# 1 UMhester04 @ 11/06/12 10:38 AM
Nice review, pretty much exactly how I feel on the game. Once they patch the bugs (as best they can ) this will stay in my console for a long time.
 
# 2 sonnyleesmith @ 11/06/12 10:39 AM
I agree with this review.
 
# 3 eaterofworlds888 @ 11/06/12 11:28 AM
Yea i agree with this review a lot too. Good game but the A.I is horrilble!
 
# 4 Caveman24 @ 11/06/12 11:30 AM
great review!
 
# 5 PVarck31 @ 11/06/12 01:25 PM
Good job. Pretty much nailed it.
 
# 6 poloelite @ 11/06/12 02:10 PM
Great game. To me it's easily the best since No Mercy. Once I can dive into it some more, it may become the GOAT!!
 
# 7 Galarius @ 11/06/12 05:31 PM
if the A.I. hasn't been radically improved then i would have to say this will still be a mediocre, if somehwat fun, game.....it is too bad that they can't create something like 2k's VIP system where you can basically program different wrestlers playstyles simply by playing as them...the last Token Redsuden for dreamcast(which this game is a descendant of) had about 20 pages of programming available for each wrestler and the created wrestlers you made had(in many ways) more intelligence and personality than this game probably will...and that was 12 years ago!...hopefully universe mode is greatly improved, but like the author said, it built up a big rivalry only to have the wrong opponent fight for a title match.Not a good sign
 
# 8 ScrubquadPRO @ 11/06/12 06:15 PM
Im super pumped for this game and this review just made me more pumped! Can't wait till i get my hands on a copy!
 
# 9 Proof21 @ 11/06/12 06:53 PM
Nice review, I agree with the majority of it for the most part.
 
# 10 Fist Of Kings @ 11/06/12 07:05 PM
The bad a.i. really hurts this game. This game suffers what the other WWE games had and that's it's still a reversal fest. And what's with the a.i. loving to go outside of the ring and do absolutely nothing?
 
# 11 La Verite @ 11/07/12 12:43 AM
Rented the game and returned it back same day. Not fun at all for me. Did finishing move after one punch. Basically the game isn't for single playing use. I was one who grew up with it so having those home tournaments and and holding the belt for bragging rights is no more. I just couldn't get into this game. WWE 12 actually had more hype. I respect how far THQ has come and they are consistent on their release dates, just wished THQ still brought the pain.
 
# 12 lere2001 @ 11/07/12 01:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Verite
Did finishing move after one punch.
Seems legit
 
# 13 todd_10 @ 11/07/12 01:18 AM
Thanks for the review, I've been tossing up wether or not to pick this years instalment up.
Seems the Attitude Era mode will swing me to getting it, sounds fun for someone who grew up during those years
 
# 14 Rawdeal28 @ 11/07/12 10:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fist Of Kings
The bad a.i. really hurts this game. This game suffers what the other WWE games had and that's it's still a reversal fest. And what's with the a.i. loving to go outside of the ring and do absolutely nothing?
i never understood statements like this.

are u saying it should be harder to reverse?


personally, i think the A.I. is far from horrible in this game. its actually pretty good and a little improved over last year. go back and play any of the Smackdown vs Raw games. now the A.I. in those game were TERRIBLE!

things can always be better but sans the 2 count issue and certain issues in multi-man matches, im having a good time playing the CPU.
 
# 15 Fist Of Kings @ 11/07/12 04:37 PM
What I'm saying is that this game, and others in the series, answer to a 'challenge' is to just increase the a.i.'s reversal rate as you raise the difficulty. There's no pace in matches, instead it's a battle of 'I'll counter the a.i. and the a.i. will counter me.' The a.i. isn't aggressive on offense and doesn't go for their finishers enough. They get most of their offense through reversals and running grapples.

The wrestlers don't act like themselves like you see in other wrestling games, like Fire Pro Wrestling Returns where you can edit logic. Because of this, all of these wrestlers feel the same and all of these constant reversals makes every match feel drawn out and boring.

And besides the pin issue that you mentioned, there's also a problem with the a.i. leaving the ring for no reason, getting weapons but then drop them, and shaky a.i. in ladder matches. I've been playing this a ton trying to like it, but unless they fix the a.i., I can't see myself keeping it for much longer.
 
# 16 mgsmith119 @ 11/08/12 10:48 AM
From what I've seen, this will be my 1st Wrestling game since Nintendo 64.
 
# 17 acolbert @ 11/08/12 01:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgsmith119
From what I've seen, this will be my 1st Wrestling game since Nintendo 64.
Yea same here, Im looking to maybe get this but I havent played a wrestling title in so long Im lost as to what would make it good or bad. I havent even watched wrestling in at least 10 years. But this game looks really good
 
# 18 Rawdeal28 @ 11/08/12 08:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fist Of Kings
What I'm saying is that this game, and others in the series, answer to a 'challenge' is to just increase the a.i.'s reversal rate as you raise the difficulty. There's no pace in matches, instead it's a battle of 'I'll counter the a.i. and the a.i. will counter me.' The a.i. isn't aggressive on offense and doesn't go for their finishers enough. They get most of their offense through reversals and running grapples.

The wrestlers don't act like themselves like you see in other wrestling games, like Fire Pro Wrestling Returns where you can edit logic. Because of this, all of these wrestlers feel the same and all of these constant reversals makes every match feel drawn out and boring.

And besides the pin issue that you mentioned, there's also a problem with the a.i. leaving the ring for no reason, getting weapons but then drop them, and shaky a.i. in ladder matches. I've been playing this a ton trying to like it, but unless they fix the a.i., I can't see myself keeping it for much longer.
well this is not a fighting game, there is no block button. it has to rely on Reversals and momentum for it to work.

in real life 1 wrestler usually does a series of moves to the other until the other guy reverses and then takes his turn on offense. you cant really have that dynamic in the game because then it can make things too one sided.

if me and you were playing each other, what am i supposed to do while u beat on me for 2 minutes? and then what if i miss my chance to reverse and now u get another minute or 2 to beat me down. now im basically a spectator.

dont get me wrong though, i agree it should be harder to reverse moves. i wish they brung back 2 button reversals. momentum should be more of a factor as well. right now, no matter what state your guy is in he can still pretty much reverse anything.

i really dont have problem with the A.I. aggressiveness this year. its improved from 12 for sure. when the have a finisher, they use it. its not always right away, sometimes they wait until your groggy to use it.

as for leaving the ring, whenever u first get a highlighted Finisher icon (the one that gives your finisher 2x the damage) the cpu runs out the ring so that u cant use it on them. they did this last year too.
 

Post A Comment
Only OS members can post comments
Please login or register to post a comment.