Home
OS Scores Explained Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 Overview (Xbox 360)
Pros
Attacking alongside smart AI a sheer joy, Large variety of goals, Deep online and offline game modes provide longevity
Cons
Below par animations, Gameplay feels too open-ended at times, Inconsistent goalkeepers
Bottom Line
Despite its rough edges, channels the heart and soul of football with its gameplay.
8
out of 10
Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 REVIEW

Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 Review (Xbox 360)

Read about how we complete our reviews. You can check out the review process here, and then you can scope out thescoring guidelines and scoring rubric.

Day One: Initial/Gameplay Impressions
Day Two: Career Mode Impressions


The Pro Evolution Soccer series has always lived and died by its gameplay. You don't expect stunningly polished presentation when you pop in PES, but you do expect fun and authentic on-pitch action. The problem was that for the past few years, even the gameplay has faltered, leading to a string of subpar offerings from this once mighty franchise.

Last year was a step in the right direction, as PES 2011's gameplay started to offer football fans glimmers of hope. This year,PES 2012 has eradicated its predecessors’ flaws, and took gameplay to a whole new level. This is by far the best PES game for the current generation of consoles.

Gameplay

Pass and move: one of football’s most basic, but crucial principles. PES 2012’s revamped AI got this right. I cannot rave about this enough. AI teammates read and react to situations cleverly, moving into space to create opportunities or support your ball carrier by coming close. The AI teammates are smart enough that I rarely found myself having to use this year’s new feature of manually initiating runs. This makes scoring immensely satisfying because of the organic nature of the buildup. If you take the time to tweak some teams’ questionable default tactics, you will see a good variety of defending styles from the CPU — some of them play a high line, others defend deep with their entire team behind the ball. Consequently, you’re forced to utilize your AI teammates to full effect, as you must find different ways to craft your attack. And believe me, there are plenty.

Player individuality — one of PES’ trademarks — remains strong as ever. Each player feels different to control. This, combined with the intelligent AI makes attacking play in PES 2012 a pure joy. One of my favorite analogies about PES is that it’s like an onion: you peel off one layer of the game to reveal another. It’s a great comparison, because the game certainly gets better the more you play it. One thing I can't rave enough about, is that every game feels different. The spirit of spontaneity that PES is known for is alive and well.

Despite its greatness, there are still some shortcomings to PES 2012’s overall gameplay. The CPU seems unable to maintain possession realistically. Basically, CPU controlled players feel too conditioned to only think in one direction when attacking. While you can adjust the style of how the teams attack by changing tactics, it seems that no matter the amount of tweaking, they are are still too intent on going forward and risk relinquishing possession. I have noticed that even for teams with a defensive minded setup, players are eager to take on defenders and beating them when the safer, more logical option is to play the ball back and slow the game down.

Scripting issues crop up periodically. While some of this may be related to the game’s animation mechanics, it is nonetheless disheartening to see some tussles entering into predetermined, scripted sequences which, after playing for a while, you will instantly recognize. AI defenders suffer from this as well. From time to time it seems as if the ball is predestined to reach to a certain place on the pitch, and AI defenders will completely switch off and let the ball dribble through. This is a rare happenstance, but when it does happen it usually happens inside the box and can be costly to your team.

PES 2012’s goalkeepers remind me of Ben Foster, the West Brom keeper. Like Foster, while they are definitely capable of world class saves, they are also inconsistent enough to let in their fair share of howlers. They especially seem incapable of catching the ball and will elect to parry even the slowest of shots. 

All in all, these are minor quibbles to what are some of the best attacking sequences I’ve ever experienced. Is it entirely realistic? Not exactly. But gameplay still feels too open and too end-to-end. But where PES 2012 succeeds is in capturing the free flowing spirit of football and then amplify it. It’s hard to capture its essence in words, but you will know it when you pick up the controller and play it for the first time, because it feels just right.


Presentation

This horse, by now, is probably revived and beaten to death again, but I have to mention it anyway: the lack of official licenses. I know there are plenty of excellent option files on the internet with real kits and team names, but the house rule here at OS is that we only review what comes in the box. So at the end of the day, North London versus The Potteries is not the same as Arsenal against Stoke City, especially not with those hideous fake kits. What mitigates this to a certain extent is that the Serie A and La Liga are fully licensed, so amongst the “big three,” only the Premier League is missing, with all but Manchester United and Tottenham coming with fake names and kits. As well, PES 2012 also returns with UEFA and Copa Libertadores licenses. While the differences are mostly cosmetic, it still boosts the immersion level, especially when your team steps out for a Champions League match and the familiar anthem rings out around the stadium. Night games in PES 2012 look particularly fantastic.

PES’ animations are starting to show their age. To be fair, there have been some subtle improvements and things do look smoother on the pitch, but it’s still decidedly below par compared to the current slew of sports titles. Player movements look stilted and robotic; and dribbling, while satisfying to perform, looks awkward as players’ leg movements sometimes get out of sync or are stuck in a certain animation. Player faces on the other hand, are a pleasant surprise. A fair share of them are done extremely well and look just like their real life counterparts.

The commentary, again by Jon Champion and Jim Beglin, has improved … slightly. This is PES we’re talking about, so the bar has never been set even remotely high. They are still not good enough to add anything meaningful to the atmosphere due to the amount of generic comments, but at least Beglin finally seems to be able to string a complete sentence together. This is especially refreshing since last year his contributions were largely limited to yelling out one word exclamations often at the wrong times. Overall, presentation remains well below average.

Career Modes

Career modes in PES 2012 are grouped under the Football Life umbrella. Master League and Become A Legend make their expected return, along with a newcomer, Club Boss.

Master League remains largely unchanged, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing given how addictive ML in previous PESgames were. The mode still revolves around the same tasks of transferring players, youth management, keeping your squad happy and winning trophies. There are a few small improvements. Visually, some information is now presented via cut scenes. They are nicer to look at than a text box, and will remain interesting until the same ones pop up over and over again. You can also respond to player requests through a simplistic, pick an answer system, which will either make him happy or unhappy. These small adjustments, while appreciated, don’t change things a whole lot. Disappointingly, aspiring managers are still forced to be “one club men”, as the ability to change clubs is still lacking. If you get sacked by your chairman, the game mode just ends. That’s it.

Become A Legend, with the exception of cut scenes, is almost identical to last year’s version as well. The only significant difference is that this year, you cannot pick the club you start with, and are instead signed by one of the lower clubs in Europe. Like Master League, even without substantial changes, it is still highly addictive to try to make your way to the top continental teams and lead your country to glory.

As I stated in my career mode impressions, the main improvement to both modes comes simply from the improved gameplay, especially in Become A Legend. With this year’s intelligent AI teammates, it’s a blast to play as a playmaker because you will be given so many opportunities to create some breathtaking goals.

Club Boss is the new mode where it lets you become a chairman of a football team. There is no playing involved, and instead your objective is to make the most profit while running the club. You can influence things as much or as little as you like, from personnel decisions to transfer budgets. Stick to Master League or Become a Legend, however, as this is one mode (or really, half a mode) that gets tiring really quickly.

Online

PES’ showpiece last year, Master League online, returns. And like its offline counterpart, it’s a very deep mode. The concept remains the same: start out with no name players, play other online teams for prize money, and try to build your squad by purchasing real life footballers with much better abilities. The major change this year is the addition of contracts: not only do you have to pay to buy a player, you also have to pay to play him. This adds to the complexity of the mode, especially when you’re building your squad, as playing with a team of superstars now cost much, much more. If you’re a predominantly online player, this mode will keep you entertained well into next year.

In terms of match quality, save for the odd game with some noticeable lag, play out smoothly. One thing to note is that online matches don’t appear to have the option to adjust game speeds, so the large population who prefer to play the game on -1 or -2 will have to settle for a pace they probably find quicker than ideal.

Final Thoughts 

This is one of the harder reviews I had to do in terms of scoring. On one hand, I had some of the most satisfying on-pitch moments in a football game. On the other hand, it’s still a game that still has many rough edges, like the glaringly lack of polish in its presentation elements, or the sometimes inconsistent keepers. So in the end, the question became: Is gameplay enough to carry PES 2012 to being a great title, in spite of the other areas where it sorely needs work? I’ve gone back and forth on this many times, but the more I play the game, the more the answer became evident. Yes, yes it is. Simply put, PES 2012’s gameplay is so enjoyable that any fan of the sport — passionate or casual — should overlook its flaws and pick it up, just to experience how authentic it feels on the pitch.


Learning Curve: If you know your football, it won't be hard given that your AI teammates are smart enough this year to help you out. Top Player difficulty, though, seems much harder than last year.

Control Scheme: With the exception of some button changes and the ability to manually initiate runs, it's the same PES as it has always been.

VisualsPES does a good job with its stadiums and faces, but the game's animations desperately need some work.

Audio: Slightly better than last year -- so, still pretty bad.

Value: With Master League, Become a Legend and Master League online, PES 2012 will have you playing for a long long while.

Score: 8.0 (Great)


Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 Videos
Member Comments
# 1 ty5oke @ 10/04/11 04:03 PM
Very good review Kelvin. Agreed with all the flaws mentioned but the gameplay is so top notch that this is my go-to footy game.
 
# 2 RoyceDa59 @ 10/04/11 04:42 PM
I agree good review the more I play the game the more I fall in love with it. However I do think the game has some pretty good animations it is just the transitions between some of the animations is where it falls short. Overall, this game is really great and I can't stop playing it.
 
# 3 PAPERNUT @ 10/04/11 04:55 PM
Great review. Out of the box this game is a solid 8. With option files added to it along with custom stadiums and chants, the game jumps up big time IMO.
 
# 4 EvanRG @ 10/04/11 05:00 PM
I'm buyist, but I feel this is the best soccer game to ever be released. There, I said it.

The reason the AI is attacking a lot is because people try to play PES like Fifa (aggressive, going for the tackle to quickly instead of holding up play).

PES also has a contain button on defense (had it last year also before Fifa) and if you use it, you can very easily hold up play. Watch a CPU vs CPU game to show this.

Video game reviews are subjective and I agree with a lot of what you said, but I respectfully disagree about Fifa gaining a higher score.


Especially considering the gripes you made about Fifa.

Quote:
Another flaw that becomes more apparent the longer you play the game is that the CPU doesn't have too many styles of playing. First of all, fouls are a rarity. The opposition doesn't dive in enough. When they do, they’re too successful. Second, I’ve yet to see them adjusting their tactics in relation to the score. While they do press higher when going for a goal in the dying minutes, the differences in urgency is nowhere near as pronounced as they should be. In short, sometimes you can feel like you’re playing a “one-size-fits-all” CPU.

These issues, while they won’t make the game unplayable by any stretch of the imagination, do impact the spontaneity of gameplay. After a bit of playing, sometimes you can feel as though you can foresee every run that’s about to trigger, or that games are starting to feel one note.
I appreciate how balanced you were, but I feel like the reviews you wrote give two completely different scores than what you actually rated and talked about.

Gameplay wins outright every time and going by what you wrote -- PES should've won.

(I feel like a lawyer resting his case.)
 
# 5 Bahnzo @ 10/04/11 05:29 PM
I can't agree with any review that rates PES lower than FIFA this year.
 
# 6 Jgainsey @ 10/04/11 06:03 PM
As usual, I'll be buying PES for PC.

The consistently solid gameplay, along with the great modding community usually make my video game soccer choice pretty easy.

Personally, I wouldn't have given FIFA a higher score than PES this year, but the content of the review is fair. I don't get all that worked up over the review scores in and of themselves, but it is still a shame that the better game "lost".
 
# 7 kerosene31 @ 10/04/11 08:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvanRG
The reason the AI is attacking a lot is because people try to play PES like Fifa (aggressive, going for the tackle to quickly instead of holding up play).
This is 100% true. I was trying to defend in PES similar to the way I did in Fifa 11 (I played more Fifa last year). I was terrible. I adjusted and am a lot better.

I agree that PES has more flaws this year, but still I prefer it. It doesn't have the polish, but it just has it where it counts.
 
# 8 KG @ 10/04/11 08:38 PM
Everyone always feels like there is scripting in sports games but it exists in real life. That old cliche "you're at your most vulnerable after you score" is tried and proved. One club is trying hard to score, the other club is trying hard to defend packing it in and absorbing constant flurry after flurry. When your club is the latter how nervous are you? You get that same feeling in PES but because it's a video game people EXPECT the players to take into account the game situation and adjust on their own. It doesn't happen that way. Those like bars you see on the far right hand corner is the CPU changing mentality. When they do that, you need to do that. You feed right into the "game is scripted mentality" if you don't adjust.

Keepers are a mixed bag much like they are in real life. Most top league keepers are capable of producing the spectacular, few are able to do it consistently and even the best (Van der Saar, Casillas, etc...) have been put to shame on match-day. Yes, I'd like to see them catch more direct shots but I've seen double and triple saves as well as them coming off their line on-their-own to clear or deal with troublesome balls.

I agree with a lot of the review though and overall there is just something about PES that draws me despite it's flaws.
 
# 9 Hjkflannel @ 10/05/11 05:04 AM
Hi can someone explain this opinion people have that PES has a slower build up then FIFA? Have people played Fifa this year? the build up is very considered on the attacking and defensive side of the ball. Pes has always been end to end stuff with direct football normally seen in the last minutes of real games. Im not sure if it is an American misinterpretation of football, i find it really odd, when people call FIFA less realistic, i mean just look at the physics on PES, its really fun, but come on.
 
# 10 cadalyst17 @ 10/05/11 08:11 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahnzo
I can't agree with any review that rates PES lower than FIFA this year.
It's the overall package. These are two entirely different games with different building philosophies. I look at it as body and soul. Fifa definitely is the body and PES is the soul.

Fair review. Even though it is not a sim. It does manage to blur the line (sim/arcade) with such amazing, creative gameplay.
 
# 11 cadalyst17 @ 10/05/11 08:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hjkflannel
Hi can someone explain this opinion people have that PES has a slower build up then FIFA? Have people played Fifa this year? the build up is very considered on the attacking and defensive side of the ball. Pes has always been end to end stuff with direct football normally seen in the last minutes of real games. Im not sure if it is an American misinterpretation of football, i find it really odd, when people call FIFA less realistic, i mean just look at the physics on PES, its really fun, but come on.
PES is a faster game.
 
# 12 kerosene31 @ 10/05/11 10:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hjkflannel
Hi can someone explain this opinion people have that PES has a slower build up then FIFA? Have people played Fifa this year? the build up is very considered on the attacking and defensive side of the ball. Pes has always been end to end stuff with direct football normally seen in the last minutes of real games. Im not sure if it is an American misinterpretation of football, i find it really odd, when people call FIFA less realistic, i mean just look at the physics on PES, its really fun, but come on.
Many people are turning down the default speed on PES (which is very quick) to at least -1 or even -2. On default PES kind of plays like pinball.

PES 2012 has amazing build up. If you only played the demo, it played a little different. With the retail on professional difficulty you have to move the ball around. In past versions, you could use through balls on the wings to set up crosses and that was how you scored. This year is a lot better. That still happens, but you can't just bomb the ball down the pitch at all.

PES has better build up because like a real team the pressure increases as you move closer to the other team's goal. If you are early on in a game with no score, the other team isn't going to be hyper aggressive at you when you are in the middle of the pitch. They don't want to give up a cheap foul or give you too much space. As you get closer is when the CPU gives you less time with the ball and ups the pressure. Just like the real sport, you see a lot more midfield movement at a slower pace. In Fifa in my experience if you stop for long you are going to have someone all over you no matter where you are.
 
# 13 Hjkflannel @ 10/05/11 11:56 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerosene31
Many people are turning down the default speed on PES (which is very quick) to at least -1 or even -2. On default PES kind of plays like pinball.

PES 2012 has amazing build up. If you only played the demo, it played a little different. With the retail on professional difficulty you have to move the ball around. In past versions, you could use through balls on the wings to set up crosses and that was how you scored. This year is a lot better. That still happens, but you can't just bomb the ball down the pitch at all.

PES has better build up because like a real team the pressure increases as you move closer to the other team's goal. If you are early on in a game with no score, the other team isn't going to be hyper aggressive at you when you are in the middle of the pitch. They don't want to give up a cheap foul or give you too much space. As you get closer is when the CPU gives you less time with the ball and ups the pressure. Just like the real sport, you see a lot more midfield movement at a slower pace. In Fifa in my experience if you stop for long you are going to have someone all over you no matter where you are.
FIFA really isn't like that this year, the AI will contain you rather than pressure you all the time like fifa 11. I played PES with -1 speed, although haven't played the finished game (EU). The build up still felt fast, i think the way the ball can travel so quickly and directly makes the killer ball so much more effective. I found the demo exhilarating but ultimately unsatisfying. Sometimes through balls feel destined to go to my striker likewise with crosses that zero in on the attackers head. The shooting is more about powering up that bar and crossing your fingers unlike FIFA where even a through on goal isn't the end of the story. PES is an attacking game that is great fun but not a simulation. Some say it has the soul of football, i think they are misinterpreting the mechanics of the game. It offers great goals every match, every time - football isn't like that. its sometimes about bad passing, poor decisions 80 percent of the time then suddenly one great move earns a goal. Would you say NBA Jam represents the soul of basketball (well some might) but i hope you get my point.
 
# 14 kerosene31 @ 10/05/11 12:56 PM
I only played the Fifa 12 demo so can't comment on the final game. The PES 12 demo was watered down difficulty wise. It said it was "professional" difficulty, but it was nothing like the full version. The demo was much easier than the final game. The demo played more like regular than pro. In the final game, the CPU doesn't give you nearly as much as it did before.

I'm betting the Fifa demo was easier too, as many games seem to do this (NHL was as well). I think making them too easy makes it hard to evaluate the game.

A manual crossing option is something badly missing from PES. Crosses are too accurate and tend to hit where the player is standing when you release it, not where he should run to. The demo had really easy crosses to score on, which is different in the final version.

Passing works great in PES once you find the right pass assist settings. The other problem with PES is it lacks a real manual passing option as well so you really just have to spend the time to get used to it.

PES is a good representation of the game this year, it just has strengths and weaknesses just like other games. Where PES shines and the reviewer states is AI. Your teammates will make smart runs and more importantly, you can rely on them to play defense and intelligently help you out. In PES when the CPU player is coming into the box I block them off preventing them from shooting and when I do that a teammate will wisely jump in and help out. Fifa's new feature seems ok, but I didn't spend much time with it. In PES sometimes you don't have to even call for pressure, they just know what to do and do it. It doesn't feel like a bunch of 1 on 1 encounters.

It all comes down to what matters. AI is huge for me as offline play is all I do. PES is legit this year and it doesn't come down to which is "better" but which one people prefer.
 
# 15 EvanRG @ 10/05/11 01:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hjkflannel
FIFA really isn't like that this year, the AI will contain you rather than pressure you all the time like fifa 11. I played PES with -1 speed, although haven't played the finished game (EU). The build up still felt fast, i think the way the ball can travel so quickly and directly makes the killer ball so much more effective. I found the demo exhilarating but ultimately unsatisfying. Sometimes through balls feel destined to go to my striker likewise with crosses that zero in on the attackers head. The shooting is more about powering up that bar and crossing your fingers unlike FIFA where even a through on goal isn't the end of the story. PES is an attacking game that is great fun but not a simulation. Some say it has the soul of football, i think they are misinterpreting the mechanics of the game. It offers great goals every match, every time - football isn't like that. its sometimes about bad passing, poor decisions 80 percent of the time then suddenly one great move earns a goal. Would you say NBA Jam represents the soul of basketball (well some might) but i hope you get my point.
I respectfully disagree.
 
# 16 Hjkflannel @ 10/05/11 06:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvanRG
I respectfully disagree.
I think the great thing this year is everybody wins pes is great and FIFA is great, last year both had big issues. I spent along time with both demos this year but FIFA won, I would ask any pes fan to checkbout this years FIFA before making any comparisons. it has made strides that are hard to come back from such as satisfying defending (something I've never seen in a football game) all it needs now is the incredible pes attacking ai, and a refinement of the impact engine. Ive played pes since the ps2 days and it's good to see it finally getting back to the level of end to end action that made It so fun to play.
 
# 17 KG @ 10/05/11 09:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hjkflannel
FIFA really isn't like that this year, the AI will contain you rather than pressure you all the time like fifa 11. I played PES with -1 speed, although haven't played the finished game (EU). The build up still felt fast, i think the way the ball can travel so quickly and directly makes the killer ball so much more effective. I found the demo exhilarating but ultimately unsatisfying. Sometimes through balls feel destined to go to my striker likewise with crosses that zero in on the attackers head. The shooting is more about powering up that bar and crossing your fingers unlike FIFA where even a through on goal isn't the end of the story. PES is an attacking game that is great fun but not a simulation. Some say it has the soul of football, i think they are misinterpreting the mechanics of the game. It offers great goals every match, every time - football isn't like that. its sometimes about bad passing, poor decisions 80 percent of the time then suddenly one great move earns a goal. Would you say NBA Jam represents the soul of basketball (well some might) but i hope you get my point.
FIFA contains just for the sake of saying that they have toned down pressure. I've spent more time so far with FIFA (waiting on the OF) and the amount of time you have on the ball inside your opponent's half is mind boggling. I can get the ball to my ST, turn, take 1-2 dribbles before the CB will come up.

The same goals I scored on FIFA '08 are the same one's that work in '12. Angled shots with the finesse modifier, passes across the goal for tap-ins, etc... Don't get me wrong, there are some aspects of FIFA that I love (the new tackle system for example) but it doesn't provide the spontaneity that PES offers. Not every goal is pretty on PES either. I have scored some absolutely ugly goals resulting from scrambles in the box, something the other game doesn't do as the AI is incapable of doing it consistently.

Through balls have been greatly toned down since PES 2011 and I prefer this header system where it values timing as well as physical skill.
 
# 18 Hjkflannel @ 10/06/11 03:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by KG
FIFA contains just for the sake of saying that they have toned down pressure. I've spent more time so far with FIFA (waiting on the OF) and the amount of time you have on the ball inside your opponent's half is mind boggling. I can get the ball to my ST, turn, take 1-2 dribbles before the CB will come up.

The same goals I scored on FIFA '08 are the same one's that work in '12. Angled shots with the finesse modifier, passes across the goal for tap-ins, etc... Don't get me wrong, there are some aspects of FIFA that I love (the new tackle system for example) but it doesn't provide the spontaneity that PES offers. Not every goal is pretty on PES either. I have scored some absolutely ugly goals resulting from scrambles in the box, something the other game doesn't do as the AI is incapable of doing it consistently.

Through balls have been greatly toned down since PES 2011 and I prefer this header system where it values timing as well as physical skill.
Good points, i think FIFA's contain system does go to far at times particularly in the box when you just want players to swarm and the goals i have scored often come from the wings. The computer always attacks from the wings (another complaint). The system isnt meant to decrease pressure its meant to make the game more considered and tactical. As for the crossing i do agree that timing plays an important factor but have the aim on auto does feels a bit old, plus the angle a winger can catapoult the ball across his body still needs work, i do like the way the computer closes you down on the wings aggressivly. I think Pes needs an new animation system to progress, i think this is as good as it gets on this engine. I think the thing that is great about pes is if you think it you can do it but that doesnt apply to the collisions where things are still to bumper cars, although at least the computer actually fouls you, unlike fifa.
Ive scored the kind of goals you are talking about and they are quite spontaneous but also comical. Normally the ball will be spilled by butter hands goalie, bounce off a player and then into my path.
 
# 19 KG @ 10/06/11 08:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hjkflannel
Good points, i think FIFA's contain system does go to far at times particularly in the box when you just want players to swarm and the goals i have scored often come from the wings. The computer always attacks from the wings (another complaint). The system isnt meant to decrease pressure its meant to make the game more considered and tactical. As for the crossing i do agree that timing plays an important factor but have the aim on auto does feels a bit old, plus the angle a winger can catapoult the ball across his body still needs work, i do like the way the computer closes you down on the wings aggressivly. I think Pes needs an new animation system to progress, i think this is as good as it gets on this engine. I think the thing that is great about pes is if you think it you can do it but that doesnt apply to the collisions where things are still to bumper cars, although at least the computer actually fouls you, unlike fifa.
Ive scored the kind of goals you are talking about and they are quite spontaneous but also comical. Normally the ball will be spilled by butter hands goalie, bounce off a player and then into my path.
The contain system is great in theory and with some fine-tuning will be the backbone of a new & improved FIFA but right now w/o tweaking team tactics it doesn't resemble real life. It's absorb absorb absorb until you, the user, do something. I think PES's defensive approach is right on with the amount of pressure + tactical intelligence.

Animations do need to improve in PES, no doubt about it, but the impact engine has made FIFA take a step back IMO. Aside from the crazy animations that you can find on youtube there are numerous times where you an animation collision will initiate and the outcome is totally unpredictable with no regards to physics or strength. I've seen physical CBs like Hummels & Ferdinand get thrown by the likes of Bojan because an animation will take them out the play. There's too many times where you cross your fingers playing defense and hope that the ball won't magically drift into the attackers path after a collision. Coupled with the fact that you AI will often leave you high & dry with their reaction times and I've given up many goals online that I have literally no control over.

I still enjoy both games but I've put more time into FIFA right now while I wait for the 360 OF to come out.
 
# 20 rckabillyRaider @ 10/07/11 11:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by KG

The same goals I scored on FIFA '08 are the same one's that work in '12. Angled shots with the finesse modifier, passes across the goal for tap-ins, etc... Don't get me wrong, there are some aspects of FIFA that I love (the new tackle system for example) but it doesn't provide the spontaneity that PES offers. Not every goal is pretty on PES either. I have scored some absolutely ugly goals resulting from scrambles in the box, something the other game doesn't do as the AI is incapable of doing it consistently.
That is so true. It's almost literally the only goals available on FIFA which makes it quite boring after a few games.
 

« Previous12Next »

Post A Comment
Only OS members can post comments
Please login or register to post a comment.