Home
Preview
NHL 2K10 Preview

This past hockey season was a tough one for me since my beloved Red Wings choked away a chance at back to back Stanley Cups. In addition to that unfortunate moment in history, one of my all-time favorite sports-gaming franchises, NHL 2K9, was still struggling to find its way. But with a full development cycle under their belt, the developers at Visual Concepts will hopefully deliver an impressive game in 2009. All right, now let's get to it.

What’s Hot


Graphics and Presentation

When they are the sole developers of a game, The developers at Visual Concepts have always done an exceptional job. NHL 2K10 appears to be no different -- NHL 2K10 looks absolutely beautiful this year. The player models look great, and the arena details and lighting look to be some of the best available in any console-sports title.

And if there is one area where the 2K hockey franchise has always shined, it is in the area of presentation. 2K10 includes every team's actual pregame introductions, along with player-specific rituals such as Ovechkin cooling his stick off. The commentary, stat overlays and cut scenes all look to be rock solid, and even the new in-game menu system looks to be extremely slick and user friendly. Visually, NHL 2K10 looks extremely polished, and the developers at Visual Concepts should be given some major credit for their attention to detail.

Winter Classic

That’s right, NHL 2K10 includes the Winter Classic. Even if you think the game is cheesy (by the way you’re not a true hockey fan if you think that), you have to admit that the mere inclusion of this mode is quite impressive. This is something I have wanted in an NHL game the last three years, so I am ecstatic to see it being included in 2K10.

Social Networking

Admittedly, I think social networking and Twitter are some of the worst inventions in the history of man. That being said, the ability to create a real-time blog by uploading pictures and videos from a game you just recently finished is undeniably cool. Even though I disdain real-life status updates, being able to tell my buddies about my latest battle on the ice has me giddy with anticipation. Here’s a Twitter feed for you: "Christian is super psyched about being able to blog about his NHL 2K10 teams...tee hee."


NHL 2K10 looks to make some big strides this year, will the execution fulfill the promises?



What’s Not


One-Timers

I am basing this information off the various videos I have seen online, but it still appears that 2K10 will once again rely on the one-timer for a majority of scoring plays. This was something we all expected back in 2002, but it’s just not going to fly for me in 2009. If there are not deeper strategies in the game, I think the strategical aspect of the game will look out of place when paired with the game's sim-style presentation and overall attention to detail that I mentioned above. I am hoping the final retail version of the game will play a slower, more strategic game, especially on higher difficulty levels.

Controls

I don’t understand why 2K Sports doesn’t just admit the competition has a good control scheme. NHL 07 changed the way hockey is controlled forever, and it’s time for 2K to jump onto the full-on analog-stick bandwagon.

The day 2K realizes the impact shot-stick controls have had on the genre is the day the company will understand that great graphics, gameplay and presentation mean nothing without a standardized control scheme. Think about it, can you even imagine a football title releasing without icon-based passing? (Yeah, I see you over there Backbreaker.)

Online

2K may be offering you the ability to have your online friend jump in and play as your opponent in your dynasty, which is definitely awesome, but it doesn't compare to the impact of the EASHL in EA's NHL series. With EA pushing those limits, 2K needs to bring something to the table to compete -- online franchise mode, anyone?


At the end of the day, it's nice to possibly have two solid hockey titles for gamers to enjoy during the 09-10 season. Now if only the Red Wings would win the Cup this year...


NHL 2K10 Videos
Member Comments
# 1 VeNOM2099 @ 08/25/09 01:40 PM
This preview should be taken down for the sheer amount of falseties it contains... Controls not like EA? VC has copied EA control scheme last year and this year it's still in there - LS controls movement, RS controls dekeing and shooting. Online? 2K10 may not have something like EASHL, but what EA lacks is having the possibility to play ALL modes online. They also don't have the possibility to play Franchise games online or to post the results to your own Franchise Blog on the 2Ksports Community site. Too many one-timers? Instead of watching the IGN videos where two Arcade Pinball fans are playing NHL 2K10, you should watch Gamespot's Preview where someone who DOES know how to play hockey is playing it.

This preview = FAIL.
 
# 2 SlapPat @ 08/25/09 02:01 PM
Yep I couldn't agree more: fail. The worst of this article isn't contained in the "what's not" section though. Let's face it, something's completely wrong when you break your positive expectations about NHL 2k10 into these three elements: "Graphics and presentation" (surface) "Winter Classic" (detail) and "Social networking" (no comments).
 
# 3 Fiddy @ 08/25/09 02:32 PM
agree with the above comments. terrible preview and not what you would expect from OS!!
 
# 4 TIm @ 08/25/09 02:46 PM
Now I have been a made some complaints to 2k for not giving us any real info.. However, this preview was really bad and I hope you will take it down, Especially going by what you saw for the info so far. With NHL10, Flyermania should be the one to write it because if I'm not mistaken he played a Beta over the weekend. This is NOT the "OPERATION SPORTS" I know...
 
# 5 VeNOM2099 @ 08/25/09 02:53 PM
Seriously... The EA preview talks about gameplay enhancements, goalie improvements and added game modes as "What's hot". Why not have the same things for NHL 2K10? Why not mention how the developers have rewritten the AI code from the ground up as a postive? Why not talk about Signature Styles being tied in to player attributes so as to differentiate one player from another as a positive? Why not mention how the Wii version will have every single feature the Next-Gen versions will have as a positive?

Operation Sports? More like "Operation EA Sports"...
 
# 6 CarryTheWeight @ 08/25/09 02:58 PM
I agree with everyone else. Compared to Chase's extensive rundown of NBA 2K10 a few days ago, this quick look at NHL 2K10 is horrid by comparison. I have a feeling the author didn't have a hands-on look at the game himself because most of these assessments can be made by looking at screens, basic fact sheets or videos.

Someone with actual hands-on impressions needs to post something like this because it doesn't let us know what this game really has going for it (and against it).
 
# 7 Nightbird248 @ 08/25/09 03:03 PM
I totally agree with what Venom has said in his 2 posts here an to the preview person, get your facts straight before hand. You should have gone to 2ksports an read the 4 an later today will be 5 developer insights they have up about this game on top of the Gamespot video Venom mentioned.
 
# 8 Nightbird248 @ 08/25/09 03:11 PM
Here is a bit of info preview person that you may not know about or didn't bother to go look for on the net an all I did was go to another website to get it.

NHL 2K10 redefines the sports gaming experience with a new emphasis on social gaming. Whether you're a die-hard NHL fan or a casual player, NHL 2K10's pick-up-and-play controls, true-to-life authenticity and variety of on- and off-line multiplayer modes promise hours of entertainment for any gamer. Among the new features that will make this the must-have hockey game of the season include:

* New Gameplay Mechanics - Completely rewritten AI, enhanced defensive controls and stick lifts, stumble shots, a new defensive skating model and new incidental contact and small animation systems

* Enhanced Presentation - All-new rink intros for each arena, improved goal celebrations, enhanced visuals, and greatly improved, true-to-life character models, with San Jose Sharks commentators Randy Hahn and Drew Remenda returning with new broadcast commentary

* Improved Franchise Mode - NHL 2K10 features a new contract/free agency system, improved roster management, an updated financial model, dynamic player progression, and fantasy drafts

* New Franchise Co-op Play - Play a franchise season game with or against a friend on- or offline, or play a traditional game against the CPU

* Franchise Blog / 2KSports.com Integration - Publish your franchise stats and standings, and upload game highlights and screenshots to your personal page at 2KSports.com

* Enhanced Online Modes - New seamless online integration connects players in Team Up games, tracks your progress with My Player Card, and offers full league, leaderboard, tournament and 2K Share support

* Create Team Mode - Create a persistent team with friends by designing your uniforms, developing a unique team identity, and then competing against other created teams online, offline and in Franchise mode

Wii SPECIFIC FEATURES:

* New Control Scheme - Choose between fun, easy-to-use Wii Remote and Nunchuk controls and Sideways Wii Remote support, or plug in a Wii Classic Controller for three ways to play

* Full Online Modes - For the first time, enjoy full online support for Wii, including multiplayer and multi-console match-ups, downloadable rosters, online leagues, tournaments, leaderboards and Team Up mode featuring persistant created teams and regular Pick-Up Games

* WiiMotion Plus and WiiSpeak Support - Enjoy online voice chat capabilities via WiiSpeak and precise one-to-one control with WiiMotion Plus
 
# 9 TIm @ 08/25/09 03:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeNOM2099
Seriously... The EA preview talks about gameplay enhancements, goalie improvements and added game modes as "What's hot". Why not have the same things for NHL 2K10? Why not mention how the developers have rewritten the AI code from the ground up as a postive? Why not talk about Signature Styles being tied in to player attributes so as to differentiate one player from another as a positive? Why not mention how the Wii version will have every single feature the Next-Gen versions will have as a positive?

Operation Sports? More like "Operation EA Sports"...

VeNOM2099,
I take exception to you saying Operation EA sports. This site probably has the best reviewers on here.. In fact most of the time I may want to buy a game I wait for the review from these guys... Don't come on here and bash the site.. While I agree this never should have been a preview, I do blame 2k sports for not getting us any info.. Even on the developer insights we got no videos showcasing what they were talking about... This is a site that the Mods take pride in... I would hope OS removes that preview until they actually played the game.
 
# 10 VeNOM2099 @ 08/25/09 03:50 PM
Really, it had to be said though. My meaning was to emphasize the difference between the EA preview, which has factual information, while the 2K preview is mostly made up of conjecture and assumptions.

I do agree with you that the developer has been very poor in giving out information as of yet on the game. But that's no reason to just make up stuff either. And as pointed out, there is quite a bit of info on the 2Ksports site's Developer Insights.
 
# 11 Bumble14 @ 08/25/09 03:51 PM
Easy all. Did you all happen to take a look at our hands on preview we did a few weeks back?

http://www.operationsports.com/preview.php?id=81

The Hot or Not is not meant to be a full preview of the game- it is meant to be a quick synopsis on some of the games high and low points. This was never meant to be an in depth preview- that is what the above linked article was.
 
# 12 VeNOM2099 @ 08/25/09 03:52 PM
Forgot to add: I've always looked up to OS for fair reviews on sports game. To me, they could always be counted to give great previews and reviews without the shennanigans we have to deal with at general gaming sites like IGN or Gamespot where their idea of "great hockey" was Nintendo Hockey where you could take "Fat Guy" and pummel "Small Guy" or "Skinny Guy" and give him a 2 min penalty for losing...
 
# 13 Sherman91587 @ 08/25/09 03:55 PM
Oh man someone please stop the 2k lovers from posting on every board and crying about something. Every time that EA beats 2k at something its the you don't know the whole story case.

Next I will hear something like 2k's boxing (Don King) was better than Fight NIght LOL. Even better yet that 2k baseball is better than MVP ever was hahaha.

I am not a fan boy but serious you people are so funny.
 
# 14 savoie2006 @ 08/25/09 04:02 PM
Terrible Preview and I'm not just saying this because I'm a fan of the series, but because obviously the author has no hands on experience with the game. If he did, he most likely wouldn't base a negative off a video by IGN in which two players took turns one timing the puck to try and score on the default settings. Also he would know that even though the default controls may be buttons, 2K has pretty much adopted EA's beloved Skill Stick. The previous preview was much better written. I hope this wasn't done by one of the OS staff.
 
# 15 CarryTheWeight @ 08/25/09 04:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherman91587
Oh man someone please stop the 2k lovers from posting on every board and crying about something. Every time that EA beats 2k at something its the you don't know the whole story case.

Next I will hear something like 2k's boxing (Don King) was better than Fight NIght LOL. Even better yet that 2k baseball is better than MVP ever was hahaha.

I am not a fan boy but serious you people are so funny.
Totally uncalled for. The majority of the posters here are not complaining about the content of the game (or "how much better" EA is this year), just the content of the preview. Yes, there are a few fanboys around here but they'll always complain regardless of what gets posted. But this kind of statement does not belong in this thread.
 
# 16 VeNOM2099 @ 08/25/09 04:05 PM
It's funny how Fan boys immediately state "I'm not a fanboy"... Did anyone say how 2K10 was better than NHL 10? So far, they only one that stated one was better than the other was you, sunshine...

"Every time that EA beats 2k at something..."

Really? Neither game is out yet, nor have they been reviewed and you can already tell EA's is better?

So much for not being a fan!... Boy, that is.
 
# 17 tabulaRasa @ 08/25/09 04:07 PM
I donīt get it, is this preview based on "videos from the internet" or is it a hands-on preview??
 
# 18 joker75 @ 08/25/09 04:49 PM
This preview is the worsest preview of the week ! "Graphics is perfect... The Social Online is without EASHL (joke?) ... This Controls are still the same... " . The writer is not from this site definitely.
 
# 19 muzion @ 08/25/09 05:00 PM
one word to describe this preview: amateurish
 
# 20 slickdtc @ 08/25/09 05:18 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bumble14
Easy all. Did you all happen to take a look at our hands on preview we did a few weeks back?

http://www.operationsports.com/preview.php?id=81

The Hot or Not is not meant to be a full preview of the game- it is meant to be a quick synopsis on some of the games high and low points. This was never meant to be an in depth preview- that is what the above linked article was.
Yeah, and that's why I'm not up in arms about it. When the article states that it's getting some of its information from watching videos online, it's clear that it's not a full blown preview type deal. Just some pre-release highlights and lowlights.
 

« Previous1234Next »

Post A Comment
Only OS members can post comments
Please login or register to post a comment.