Users Online Now: 1053  |  November 23, 2009

Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

This is a discussion on Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update within the NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > NCAA Football


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2009, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rookie
 
OVR: 3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 151
Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

I wasn't sure where the appropriate place to post this was, but since the NCAA forum is being read a lot right now (and it's where I came across this popup), I decided to post it here.

Basically, when I clicked to open up a thread, a popup window opened asking me to install a security update for Flash Player 10. I didn't install this file because when I hovered my mouse over the "agree and install now" button, I saw that it was trying to download an .exe file from www.train-horns.org. Why would Adobe put their updates on a wordpress weblog?

Looks suspicious.
jhawkmike is offline  
Sponsors (you can remove these ads by registering or logging in)

Register or login to remove these ads and many more.
Old 08-26-2009, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
mvandor's Arena
 
OVR: 7
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 781
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

Saw it too and avoided it too.
mvandor is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Arrr!
 
Solidice's Arena
 
OVR: 55
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 5,953
Send a Message via Google Talk to Solidice
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

I would never install anything that just pops up on a web browser.
__________________
OS Legends-Texas Tech
2011 Season:#6 11-1(7-1)
Beat #3 Oklahoma 30-0
Career Record 32-6
Career Bowl Record 1-1

Offline Dynasty MTSU
2017 Season:#17 2-0(0-0)
Beat #23 Tennessee 31-19
career record 79-32
Bowl Record 3-5
Conf. Champs: 4(Sunbelt - '11, C-USA - '14, '15, '16)
Solidice is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pro
 
DaTwolves21's Arena
 
OVR: 9
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FT.DRUM
Posts: 755
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

yeh got it too but didnt install it
DaTwolves21 is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
MVP
 
p_rushing's Arena
 
OVR: 16
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 4,193
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

this must be a good one, I have adblocker and it made it through
p_rushing is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Rookie
 
OVR: 2
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 139
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

Yep. saw it too and avoided it. Though I had to close the browser tab in order to get rid of it.
cbc72 is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Pro
 
Ninjoid's Arena
 
OVR: 13
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 969
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

Same here - up it popped, didn't download..looks very suspicious...
Ninjoid is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Rookie
 
OVR: 0
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

I'm using a mac and firefox and it said my user-agent was IE and...why would I want an .exe file while on a mac? Very suspicious indeed!
marcusonica is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Rookie
 
OVR: 5
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 229
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

yeah happened to me too... the it says it is from Adobe, but it is actually from train-horns.org which I have no idea what that is.
Dbrentonbuck is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Rookie
 
Strummer101er's Arena
 
OVR: 6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 400
Re: Is this a Virus?? Adobe Flash Update

Ditto.

Happened to me and I'm using Safari 4.0.3 on Mac OS X 10.5.8.
Strummer101er is offline  
Closed Thread


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

« Operation Sports Forums > Football > NCAA Football »


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.

Archive - Top -