Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > FOF/TCY Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2012, 08:59 PM   #1
twomnybilz
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: pasadena, md
FOF Not Starting

I have Windows 7. I installed the game but I can't run it. When I try to run the game nothing happens. Nothing... Anyone else have this problem or a solution?

twomnybilz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsors (you can remove these ads by registering or logging in)

Register or login to remove these ads and many more.
Old 03-16-2012, 11:50 PM   #2
stevew
Hall Of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the yo'
try to right click and "run as administrator"
stevew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 08:51 PM   #3
scorp
Mascot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
try running it in compatibility mode
__________________
Thank you Nawlins fan and Shanethemaster for the helmet/logo work for the Richmond Rhinos of the WOOF.
scorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:28 PM   #4
fofer
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2012
Need Help.

I have followed everything in the faq but fof will not run under win 7 64-bit. Does anyone have any other suggestions? The demo runs fine. eLicense installed fine.

Last edited by fofer : 05-06-2012 at 06:37 PM.
fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:44 PM   #5
aston217
High School Varsity
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
It seems to work quite easily for some people on Win7 x64. It has never worked for me (but like you the demo did). I spent quite some time tinkering and looking for a solution, too.

If you're in the same boat as me I recommend running it on a virtualbox running XP. For example: https://www.virtualbox.org/ Pull out your old XP CD and install it there.

This is a bit of a hassle but as the advantage of making it convenient when you need to run extractor or changetracker. Just run it and switch out of the window and go about your regular computer tasks.

My feeling is there must be some sort of external issue (maybe security software? or some other system configuration) preventing us from using the same solutions used by other users. Haven't invested the effort in nailing it down though.
__________________
OSFL CFL
Float likeabutterflysting likeabee.



Last edited by aston217 : 05-06-2012 at 11:45 PM.
aston217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:31 PM   #6
fofer
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aston217 View Post
If you're in the same boat as me I recommend running it on a virtualbox running XP. For example: https://www.virtualbox.org/ Pull out your old XP CD and install it there.

I thought about your suggestion but my problem is that vbox will take up more than half of my partition. Won't be buying a hdd for awhile.


Quote:
My feeling is there must be some sort of external issue (maybe security software? or some other system configuration) preventing us from using the same solutions used by other users. Haven't invested the effort in nailing it down though.



What I did was reinstalled win7, then drivers, then FOF. FOF ran fine. It seems the difference from the first instance is that I installed win7, drivers, av, firewall, office, utilities, registry tweaks, services tweaks, boot tweaks, and other tweaks before installing FOF. It seems one of those is conflicting with FOF but I have no time to track it down. Bad enough all of Sunday I just did install/reinstall.

Another instance I noticed is that I scrambled to borrow 2 computers (vista 32-bit & win ultimate 64-bit) and FOF ran fine. These were at least 3 year old computers. It seems newer sw or newer versions of same sw maybe conflicting with FOF.

Last edited by fofer : 05-08-2012 at 12:33 PM.
fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:33 PM   #7
ozias
High School JV
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maine
If you have Zone Alarm, get rid of it....FOF won't run with it installed with Win 7.

Last edited by ozias : 05-08-2012 at 12:33 PM.
ozias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:35 PM   #8
aston217
High School Varsity
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Ahhhhhaaaaaaaa.

I have zone alarm. That could be it....glad you got it working, fofer. I might have to switch over now...
__________________
OSFL CFL
Float likeabutterflysting likeabee.


aston217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:42 PM   #9
fofer
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2012
I do not have zone alarm. In the machine with win 7 ultimate, it has avira and FOF ran fine.
fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:57 AM   #10
Zee
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Yes, Zone Alarm is a know problem with XP too. You can't just run it in Game Mode or disable it, you have to turn Zone Alarm off, uninstall FOF, reboot (and make sure Zone Alarm doesn't start automatically), and THEN do a fresh install of FOF and the license.

Last edited by Zee : 05-09-2012 at 11:58 AM. Reason: Fix typo's
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 04:08 AM   #11
aston217
High School Varsity
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Halle-freaking-lujah!

Zee, Ozias, you guys are life savers. Uninstalled Zone Alarm and set up FOF without a hitch. Can't tell you how much frustration it's caused me pulling out all the stops to try and get FOF and Win7 to play nice. A very non-obvious solution. I can still run changetracker in the virtualbox if I need, but now it's easier to just boot up the game.

Do you guys know how to mute the 'ding!' sound that comes up every time you open a player card?
__________________
OSFL CFL
Float likeabutterflysting likeabee.



Last edited by aston217 : 05-12-2012 at 04:24 AM.
aston217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsors (you can remove these ads by registering or logging in)

Register or login to remove these ads and many more.
Old 05-12-2012, 05:59 AM   #12
EagleFan
General Manager
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Mays Landing, NJ USA
I think that's an OS based ding. May be a way to do it in the system setup, not the game.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
This space for rent.
EagleFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 09:30 AM   #13
fofer
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2012
Good to know, at least definitely stop running av when running fof.
fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:12 PM   #14
RomaGoth
Favored Bitch #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Here
Welp. Got a new computer with Windows 7 and FOF is not running, much the same problem as the OP. I do not believe I have Zonealarm on this machine and compatibility mode/running as administrator is not working either. Hmmmph.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suicane75
Pumpy, come sit on my lap and tell me all your troubles and woes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Cloud
None of this shit is personal. It's the internet.
RomaGoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:14 PM   #15
aston217
High School Varsity
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Would check/test around with some other AV or firewall software. It's possible the root problem doesn't lie with zone alarm alone. Failing that go with a virtual box ;p problems like this can be hard to diagnose!
__________________
OSFL CFL
Float likeabutterflysting likeabee.


aston217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:26 PM   #16
ozias
High School JV
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maine
Are you getting an error message of any kind?

Sometimes the msvcr71.dll file is missing, check in the Program Files (x86)\Solecismic Software\Front Office Football 2007 folder and see if it's there.

You may have to enable "view all files" if no .dll files are visible.

Also, check the "Security Tab" of the Solecismic Software Folder, and make sure you have access to it, and check the same folder in the C:\Users\XXXX\AppData\Roaming\Solecismic Software and make sure you have access to it as well. Note XXXX is your computers name.

In order to check, Right click the folder, select "Security Tab", highlight your "user name", not System or Administrators, and then look in the box below...does everything have a check mark? If not, hit the EDIT button, and put a check in the boxes and hit OK.

Last edited by ozias : 07-24-2012 at 04:32 PM.
ozias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 12:51 PM   #17
RomaGoth
Favored Bitch #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by aston217 View Post
Would check/test around with some other AV or firewall software. It's possible the root problem doesn't lie with zone alarm alone. Failing that go with a virtual box ;p problems like this can be hard to diagnose!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozias View Post
Are you getting an error message of any kind?

Sometimes the msvcr71.dll file is missing, check in the Program Files (x86)\Solecismic Software\Front Office Football 2007 folder and see if it's there.

You may have to enable "view all files" if no .dll files are visible.

Also, check the "Security Tab" of the Solecismic Software Folder, and make sure you have access to it, and check the same folder in the C:\Users\XXXX\AppData\Roaming\Solecismic Software and make sure you have access to it as well. Note XXXX is your computers name.

In order to check, Right click the folder, select "Security Tab", highlight your "user name", not System or Administrators, and then look in the box below...does everything have a check mark? If not, hit the EDIT button, and put a check in the boxes and hit OK.

I tried a few different things including checking the security tab. Not sure if that helped, but I got the game to run under compatibility mode (XP SP3).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suicane75
Pumpy, come sit on my lap and tell me all your troubles and woes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Cloud
None of this shit is personal. It's the internet.
RomaGoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.